SOME tricky pins and fast greens caught many players out in the re-arranged DeVere Open at The Worcestershire Golf Club.

But there were still a number of great scores in the four-ball better ball pairs competition with a handicap limit of 18.

The best gross went to Neville Clarke and P Jones with 43 points and best nett and the trophy to Jason Allies and Andy Dunster with 45 points.

The E W Evans trophy is awarded to the first player who scores 100 points over three summer stableford competitions.

Clarke secured the win on the 14th green in round three.

Elsewhere, the ladies team, captained by Jane Quick, defeated Evesham 4-0 in their final friendly match of the season. It was a fitting way to end an excellent campaign which saw them win five, halve four and lose two.

The mixed team also finished the season with a win as Trevor and Brenda Cox captained the side to a 5 ½ - 4 ½ victory at Lilley Brook GC.

Other winners this week included Julie Saunders in the weekend ladies medal and Joy Williams in the nine-hole stableford.

Pauline Savage secured the Winners Cup with the only round under par. Her nett 70 meant Savage received a further handicap cut and now plays off 25.

Diane Meakin took home the ladies Past Captains Bowl with 36 points.

Colin Goodrum won the final of the Fiddian Green Spoon, while Phil Birch and Mark Read triumphed in the foursomes matchplay final of the Ledbury Cup.

Ken Willett won the midweek stableford from the yellow tees with 40 points and Stephen Homes from the white tees with a marvellous 42.

Seventy one players took to the course for the October Medal. Division One winner Richard Higgs shot a nett 71 as did Division Two champion Robert Merley. Keith McLaughlin shot 73 to take Division Three.

Meanwhile, club chairman Steve Lane was unanimously voted in as first-team captain of the county for 2019.